Paleo: The Beginning

I found out about Paleo on The Gypsies’ facebook page.  I saw a couple of people’s comments asking The Gypsies if they had followed Paleo on Expedition Impossible.  This got me curious and I ended up doing a Google search on what Paleo was… at first I thought it was pronounced Pah-lee-oh… lol.  I learned a little bit from the search and then looked at The Gypsies “liked” pages on facebook and found a LOT of Paleo resources that I started to explore.

At the first look into Paleo, I was happy to discover that it is also gluten-free and kept browsing to see what more it entailed. I’d noticed how much grain I was still eating and it made me wonder about it. I kept reading about Paleo and I was discovering that the gluten free grains I was eating weren’t so great.

The more I read about Paleo, the more answers I was getting to questions that my family and I had and it just all seemed to make sense. For example:

No grain: I’d wondered if my gluten-free grains were still having an effect on my overall not feeling good.  My Mom had also asked if people could eat too much rice, like what does an excess of rice do?  Corn molds when it is in storage (which is REALLY… ewwwww!!!) and Mom had commented that she felt better when she didn’t eat corn products… turns out it’s a GRAIN – not Paleo-friendly.

No Dairy:   I don’t feel awesome when I eat dairy.  If I eat ice cream one evening, I wake up with an “Ice Cream Hangover” of sorts – headache, sinus pressure, my eyes and face get puffy, and I feel suuuper sluggish.  So hasta la vista, dairy!

No Legumes: Beans, soy. I had heard that an overload of soy is not good for you, but then I heard that soy is good for you… Oy soy! Again, Mom had wondered if beans were really as good for you as they are presented to be… turns out… they’re NOT!

The bottom line: Eat what your body was designed to eat! Don’t eat cruddy food.

Back to The Gypsies’ page.  A couple of days passed and I was getting more and more curious about Paleo when I saw that The Gypsies had posted an interview they did with Robb Wolf.  I clicked the link and explored Robb’s website (www.robbwolf.com) and got even more curious about what I was reading… so I signed up for the email list and snooped around. It took me a few days to get to listen to the podcast, but the point is that it lead me to download the first chapter of The Paleo Solution (by Robb Wolf), which I then realized that I needed to order, and did within a couple of days.  I am so glad.

My Mom, sister, and I realized that we’d been getting cross-contaminated at Starbucks and I had been pondering the sugar amounts and the soy in my drink of choice (Venti, 7 pump Vanilla, No Foam, No Water, Earl Gray Latte).  So we decided to give it up to see what happens.  I’ve been off of Starbucks for about a week and a half now and I feel way better.  Giving up my latte was my main concern (or uh, discomfort) in going Paleo, but now that I have, it hasn’t been bad.  It’s a step.

After discussing it, we are all going Paleo starting September 1, 2011.  We’ll be starting the 30 day Paleo challenge.  I have the grocery list from www.RobbWolf.com and in the book there’s a 30 day eating plan – complete with menus and recipes.  I like the way that it’s presented, which launched off a crazy idea that I presented to my family, and here it is:

For the 30 days, I will be in charge of cooking every meal. I currently don’t cook much (like I cook eggs on occasion and I cook brownies or cake pops) but I think I can do this.  The way it’s presented looks pretty easy to follow, which is great. I want to know that I can do this.  I want to know that someone who is taking over 20 hours in college (like myself) can also do this for him or herself.  Mom and Tooti quickly agreed that this is a great idea.

Going Paleo, September 1.  Thanks Gypsies!

Leave a Reply

